How do I disable file and print sharing?:


As a TWC Interent customer, you are probably aware that the Internet is a shared resource, with many people using it at any given time. One popular, but risky, feature of the Internet allows you to share your files and printer with other subscribers. However, file and print sharing increases the risk that other Internet users could gain access to any of the files on your computer's hard drive. Therefore, Time Warner Cable recommends that subscribers disable file and print sharing.

Note: This information should not to be construed as an attempt to provide legal, security, or other such professional advice.

In addition, there are other, much more secure ways to share your files with other Internet users. For example, you can simply Email files you want to share with someone else directly to that person or you can require a password to access your files.

Following are instructions for disabling and more securely enabling file and print sharing.

Windows XP | Windows Vista | Windows 7 and 8 | Macintosh

For Windows XP
To disable file and print sharing:

  1. Click the Start menu button.
  2. From the Start menu, select Control Panel.
  3. Double-click the Windows Firewall icon.
  4. Select the Exceptions tab.
  5. Disable file and print sharing by selecting the File and Printer Sharing checkbox to remove checkmarks.
  6. Click the OK button.

Note: If you need to enable file sharing on your computer, you can reduce your susceptibility to hackers by encrypting your file or folder. To learn more about how to encrypt, visit Microsoft Support.


For Windows Vista
To disable file and print sharing:

  1. Click the Start button.
  2. From the Start menu, select Control Panel.
  3. Under the Network and Internet section, click the Set up file sharing link.
  4. Click the radio button beside File Sharing.
  5. Click to select Turn off file sharing.
  6. Click the Apply button.
  7. Click the radio button beside Printer sharing.
  8. Click to select Turn off printer sharing.
  9. Click the Apply button.

Note: If you need to enable file sharing on your computer, you can reduce your susceptibility to hackers by encrypting your file or folder. To learn more about how to encrypt, visit Microsoft Support.

For Windows 7 & 8

  1. Open Control Panel in the Start Menu.
  2. Open Network and Sharing Center in the Control Panel.
  3. Select Change advanced sharing settings in the left column of the Network and Sharing Center.
  4. Expand the network you want to disable file and printer sharing on by clicking the down arrow on the right of the profile. Note: It’s usually the profile labeled current profile.
  5. Select Turn off file and printer sharing and then click Save changes.

For Macintosh

To disable file sharing:

  1. Click the Apple menu in the upper left corner. Select Control Panels and File Sharing.
  2. The default selections should be File Sharing off and Program Linking off, and the buttons underneath should both say Start. If this is the case, file sharing is disabled. Exit the File Sharing window.
  3. If File Sharing on or Program Linking on are selected and the buttons underneath indicate Stop, click the Stop button to disable sharing and linking. Enter 0 in the dialog box that prompts you to indicate how many minutes until file sharing is turned off or how long before you want to disconnect other users connected to your computer. Click the OK button.
  4. Exit the File Sharing window.

If you need to enable file sharing on your computer, you can reduce your susceptibility to hackers by setting a password for access to all of your shared files and directories.

To set a password:

  1. Click the Apple menu in the upper left corner. Select Control Panels and File Sharing.
  2. Under Network Identity, enter an owner name and owner password. To deter potential hackers from being able to guess your password, we recommend that your password contain a minimum of eight characters and a mix of upper- and lower-case letters and numbers.
  3. The two sections toward the bottom should say File Sharing off and Program Linking off, and the buttons underneath should both say Start. Click the Start button(s) to enable file sharing and/or program linking.
  4. The indication above the Start button(s) will change from off to starting up to on.
  5. Close the File Sharing window by clicking the small box in the upper left corner.
  6. File sharing and/or program linking are now enabled. However, users will need to know your Owner Name and Owner Password in order to access files or programs on your Macintosh.
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback

If no, what do you think would improve this section?