Skip to Content

Back to News Articles


Winners chosen by their students

Release Date: 05/15/2009

Charlotte, NC (May 15, 2009) - Thirteen educators from Cabarrus County and Kannapolis City Schools will be honored for their hard work and dedication.   They received top grades from their top students and will be featured at Time Warner Cable’s 14th annual Star Teacher Awards.  An awards reception will be held May 19th at 5:30pm at the Cabarrus Arena & Events Center. Star Teacher Awards recognize top educators for their ability to positively influence their students. Students, rather than educators or administrators, select the winning teachers, making the Star Teacher Awards truly unique. Each student will make a brief speech about the teacher they are honoring and present them the Star Teacher Award.

Each high school in the Cabarrus County and Kannapolis City School systems chose its best all around male and female student from their graduating class as its Star Student. Each student selected the teacher who had the most positive influence in his or her academic career. Students could select a current or previous teacher (from kindergarten to twelfth grade) to honor with a Star Teacher Award.

“Few issues are more important to our customers and to the communities we serve than education. That's why Time Warner Cable's main focus has always been to support education in our communities, said Regional Vice President of Communications, Susan Leepson.  “We are proud of our partnership with Cabarrus and Kannapolis School’s and are thrilled with the opportunity to host the 14th annual Star Teacher Awards.”

Following are the Star Students and Star Teachers they selected: (EMBARGOED UNTIL AFTER THE EVENT)

Students   School   Teachers
Stephanie Jernigan Northwest Cabarrus Donna Proffit
Neil Quinn Northwest Cabarrus Rose Zukiewicz
Rachel Mitchener Central Cabarrus Cathy Averell
Erin Trahey Concord   Phillip Wilson
Alexander Myers Concord  Jana Snuggs
Cassandra Willemstein Hickory Ridge  Heather Raymond
Albert Change Hickory Ridge  Debbie Moss
Lorelei Phillip Jay M. Robinson Patte Elder
Josiah Lane Jay M. Robinson Col. Richard Hefner
Asia Morris Mt. Pleasant  Paula Junior
Travis Crayton Mt. Pleasant  Sherry McGowens
Julia Jarvis A.L. Brown  John Bugaiski
Jacob Newman A.L. Brown  Deanna D’Addezio

About Time Warner Cable
Time Warner Cable’s Carolina Region provides video, Internet and telephone services to more than two million customers in 442 cities and towns across North and South Carolina. Time Warner Cable is the second-largest cable operator in the U.S., with technologically advanced, well-clustered systems located in five geographic areas-New York State, the Carolinas, Ohio, southern California and Texas. Time Warner Cable serves more than 14 million customers who subscribe to one or more of its video, high-speed data and voice services.  Time Warner Cable Business Class offers a suite of phone, Internet, Ethernet and cable television services to businesses of all sizes.  Time Warner Cable Media sales, the advertising arm of Time Warner Cable, offers national, regional and local companies innovative advertising solutions that are targeted and affordable.  More information about the services of Time Warner Cable is available at,, and

Back to Top