Skip to Content

Back to News Articles


Over 500 Educators Honored From Maine To Hawaii In Two Decades

Release Date: 05/14/2009

Time Warner Cable today announced the winners of its 20th annual National Teacher Awards. There were a record number of entries to the program which honors teachers and principals who use the power of cable television’s technology and high-quality programming in their classrooms.  The winners will receive a $2,000 cash award, $3,000 technology grant for his/her school and will be honored during an awards gala on June 3 in Washington, D.C. 

During the event, the company will also honor Randall Gary of Dent Middle School in Columbia, SC as its 2009 Champion Principal. In addition to receiving the trip to Washington DC, Mr. Gary will receive a $5,000 grant for classroom technology enhancement. 

The National Teacher Awards winners are:

- Paul LaRue – Washington Senior High School – Washington C.H., Ohio

- Leslie Flores – Star View School – Midway City, CA

- Cathy Swartz and Carol Whitehead – St. Patrick School – Lincoln, NE

- Lenore Marchese – P.S. 31 William T. Davis School – Staten Island, NY

- Stephen DeShazo – Wylie High School – Wylie, TX

- Laurie Cichocki – Main Street Elementary School – East Aurora, NY

- Megan Power – Del Sur Elementary School – San Diego, CA

- Barbara James – Riverview East Academy – Cincinnati, OH

- Amy Steward and Annette Tickner – Coronado Village Elementary School – Coronado, CA

- Aimee Young – Loudonville High School – Loudonville, OH

- Tom Gregory – Gahanna Lincoln High School – Gahanna, OH

- Debra Sharp, Elizabeth Sherbeck and Colleen McBride – Pound Middle School, Lincoln, NE

- Brenda Gillespie and Donna Bownds – Clear Creek Elementary, Ft. Hood, TX

- Brian Bownds – Temple High School – Temple, TX

- Dawn Bigalk, Carol Hanney and Jackie Pollman – James Fenimore Cooper Elementary School, Milwaukee, WI

“Time Warner Cable’s National Teacher Awards has been an important part of the company’s community service and educational support for twenty years,” said Bonnie Hathaway, Vice President of Public Affairs for Time Warner Cable.  “What began as a commitment to connect schools in our coverage areas to cable and provide commercial-free educational programming to those schools evolved over that time to keep pace with changes in education and technology.”

 Teacher training, supplemental materials and curriculum-specific lesson plans are now included, all as a public service.  For a brief description on the winning projects, go to

Road Runner, Time Warner Cable’s broadband Internet, is offered at no cost to schools and public libraries.  To date, Time Warner Cable enables students in public and private schools -- from grades K-12 -- to have access to high-quality, timely, informative programming which, in the hands of teachers such as this year’s winners, becomes the springboard for valuable classroom experiences. 

About Time Warner Cable

Time Warner Cable is the second-largest cable operator in the U.S., with technologically advanced, well-clustered systems located mainly in five geographic areas — New York State (including New York City), the Carolinas, Ohio, southern California (including Los Angeles) and Texas. As of December 31, 2008, Time Warner Cable and Time Warner Cable Business Class together served more than 14 million residential and commercial customers who subscribed to one or more of its video, high-speed data and voice services.  Time Warner Cable Media Sales, the advertising arm of Time Warner Cable, offers national, regional and local companies with innovative advertising solutions that are targeted and affordable.  More information about the services of Time Warner Cable is available at, and

Back to Top